Scottish Youth Parliament elects new young leaders

Web syp new board 2

Jordan Linden replaces Louise Cameron as chair of young people’s parliament 

Paul Cardwell's photo

18th June 2015 by Paul Cardwell 0 Comments

Jordan Linden, MSYP for Uddingston and Bellshill, has been elected as the chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) at the SYP’s 57th annual sitting and AGM in Renfrewshire.

Katie Burke, MSYP for North East Fife, was elected as vice chair, and the membership also elected four new trustees: Amy Lee Frioli MSYP for Rutherglen, Thomas Mair MSYP for Coatbridge and Chryston, Ewan McCall MSYP for Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley, and Robbie Nicoll MSYP for Angus North and Mearns.

The Scottish Youth Parliament elects nearly 160 MSYPs every two years.

The democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people, it meets three times a year at national sittings to debate policy, select campaign priorities, and host events with stakeholders and other guests.

At last Sunday’s sitting, MSYPs elected the new board of trustees and committee conveners, who will lead the SYP over the next year.

As a youth-led organisation, the AGM is a hugely significant occasion which forms the foundation of the SYP’s core values and structure, truly empowering Scotland’s young people.

Jordan Linden said: “It is the privilege of my life to have been elected as the chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament.

“I would like to congratulate everyone who stood for election. We have a fantastic and vibrant membership.

“It is a privilege to work with such inspiring colleagues who are all committed to making the voices of Scotland’s young people heard.

“We have very exciting times ahead of us and lots of hard work. I look forward to working with my fellow MSYPs to build on the organisation’s success, and lead the way towards a fairer, more equal Scotland for all.”


Please enter the word you see in the image below: