Charity chiefs vying for prestigious leadership awards

Iod awards

Who will come out on top in the IoD's third sector category?

Graham Martin's photo

9th April 2019 by Graham Martin 0 Comments

Four charity chiefs are vying for a prestigious leadership award.

The Institute of Directors (IoD) Scotland has announced its shortlist for Third Sector Director of the Year ahead of the organisation’s annual awards ceremony next month.  

Finalists in the category are Alastair Davis at Social Investment Scotland, Geoff Leask of Young Enterprise Scotland, Roslyn Neely at Edinburgh Children's Hospital Charity and The Yard’s Celine Sinclair.

The awards which celebrate individuals’ business accomplishments in 2018, feature a shortlist of 47 Scottish business leaders who will go through to the final stages, competing for awards across 11 key director categories and seven regional categories.

They represent the variety of businesses across Scotland with awards for SMEs, charities, public sector organisations and large businesses.

New categories introduced for 2019 reflect Scotland’s diverse business landscape, with the addition of International Director of the Year, Inclusivity Director of the Year and Innovation Director of the Year.

David Watt, executive director of the IoD in Scotland, said: “Directors working in the third sector often have the very tricky job of balancing more for less. This year’s finalists in the third sector category are all doing brilliant things for their charities – for those who they support, as well as for the dedicated staff who they work with.

“From giving peers a much-needed boost, to helping unwell and disabled children; it’s vital that we take the time to recognise the leaders at the forefront of the charitable sector.

“This year we have introduced three new categories, which reflect the diversity of skills that directors require to enhance their business.

“Innovation Director of the Year celebrates those who are disrupting their industry with creative solutions and products, while Inclusivity Director will credit those who are employing specific initiatives in the workplace to promote diversity and inclusion.”

The ceremony will take place at the DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Central on Thursday, 23 May.